You are here: Home > Blogs > Readers' Nook

Latest Posts

  • Nov 13 - Words In Beige - Why beige? Isn’t beige boring, un-flavourful and well um … boring?
  • Nov 2 - Little Mosque on the Prairie - Join the creator an evening of humour and storytelling at the Central Library
  • Oct 17 - Books about Obsession - Two mesmerizing novels about that ever dangerous human emotion
  • Oct 7 - Books to Movies - What to read before you watch — or watch before you read
On Line

Select another pool to see the results

    Book Club in a Bag

    Books to Movies

    by Sonya - 2 Comment(s)

    Catch a movie in the theatres, borrow one from the library, or settle in to read the books first--the choice is yours! These popular titles can be enjoyed as both books and movies. Tell us in the comments: which did you prefer? Book or movie?

    In theatres now:

    Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

     

    The book:

    A runaway publishing sensation in 2012, this dark psychological thriller is a page-turner from first to last. If you prefer books to movies, you may want to savour the written word before you see the movie. Suspense is always more suspenseful the first time you take in the plot...

     

    The movie:

    Starring Ben Affleck and lesser-known British actress Rosamund Pike, this thriller is in theatres now, and so far has good reviews.

     

     This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

     

    The book:

    This "snappy and heartfelt family drama/belated coming-of-age story" (Publisher's Weekly) was published in 2009, and of course, the release of the movie has sparked interest in the book as well. Read the full summary in the catalogue; here's a snippet to get you interested:

    This Is Where I Leave You is Jonathan Tropper's most accomplished work to date, a riotously funny, emotionally raw novel about love, marriage, divorce, family, and the ties that bind--whether we like it or not.

     
    The movie:

    Starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, Jane Fonda... sounds like a great and funny ensemble cast, and worth seeing.

    Borrow the DVD or Blu-ray:

    If I Stay by Gayle Forman

     
    The book:

    Published in 2009 to critical acclaim, this young-adult heartbreaker will appeal to fans of John Green'sThe Fault in Our Stars or Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones. Share it with a teen in your life for interesting conversation.


    The movie:

    Released last summer, this is now available at the Library (add your name to the long hold lists). You may even have time to read the book while you wait for the movie. Starring Chloe Grace Moretz (Hugo), this should be a crowd-pleaser for anyone who enjoys teen tearjerkers.